| Home |
| Search |
| Today's Posts |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
W2DU's device is not a balun. It has no ratio - it is just a choke.
It behaves in the same way as a single bifilar winding on a ferrite rod, or on a ring. But a choke does not necessarily prevent longitudinal standing-wave currents on the line. It merely shifts standing waves to other positions along the line. If a choke is located at a current minimum it may serve no useful purpose at that operating frequency. A true balun transformer, whatever its ratio, by itself provides no obstruction to longitudinal currents. There can be a direct connection between the line and antenna. ---- Reg, G4FGQ. |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Forum | |||
| The FAQ (Well, Question 1, at least) | Homebrew | |||
| The FAQ (Well, Question 1, at least) | General | |||
| Horizontal loop - balun or no balun ? | Antenna | |||
| Balun Grounding Question ? | Shortwave | |||
| Low reenlistment rate | Policy | |||