| Home |
| Search |
| Today's Posts |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
Wes Stewart wrote:
On Thu, 28 Apr 2005 14:19:18 +0000 (UTC), after apparently consuming a 750 ml bottle of California red, "Reg Edwards" wrote: W2DU's device is not a balun. It has no ratio - it is just a choke. It behaves in the same way as a single bifilar winding on a ferrite rod, or on a ring. Wherever did you get the idea that a balun "must have a ratio?" "Balun" is a contraction of 'Bal'anced to 'Un'balanced. Walt's device certainly fulfills this function. [remaining bafflegab snipped] Does that make it a 1:1 balun? I'm asking serioulsly, I'm not smart enough to figure these things out. If I can't picture it in my head, I can't figure it out! Butch Magee KF5DE |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Forum | |||
| The FAQ (Well, Question 1, at least) | Homebrew | |||
| The FAQ (Well, Question 1, at least) | General | |||
| Horizontal loop - balun or no balun ? | Antenna | |||
| Balun Grounding Question ? | Shortwave | |||
| Low reenlistment rate | Policy | |||